GBLINC! Volume 2 Chapter 5

TN: There will be some naming convention changes. Since this is a continuation of a previous translator group’s works, there may be some differences in names. Hopefully this will avoid confusions.

Nakamura Yuki (中村悠紀?) is now Nakamura Yuu (中村悠) to match the original text’s naming style.

Kanade Sai (奏さい) will now be Kanade Nagase (奏长濑) and all references to Sai will become Kana or Kana-chan (小奏) to match the original text’s intention as a JP style LN/WN. I’m not sure if the previous translator was working on a Chiisai (小さい) pun or not which shows up later, but I can’t see how 长濑 became Sai.


After telling Hata Kokoro-senpai I will think about it some more, I left the room.
However the name Hata Kokoro… I feel like she’s teasing me.1
Next time I meet her I’ll ask her about it.
Since I asked Yuu to go to the canteen together at six, I took a look at the time.
Isn’t it already six!?
Though I was warned by the doctor not to do excessive exercise, I still ran all the way to the canteen.

「Hata Kokoro… senpai?」

I told Yuu the experience I had just then.

「I’ve heard of that club before… but never that senpai’s name…」

「Eh? Isn’t Yuu part of the student council?」

「I’m more of a menial worker in the student council… I am part of the branch faily after all…」 Yuu’s followed in a small voice.

「Oh… Well senpai’s club seems relaxed, if there’s no other problems I guess I’ll join」

「Maa, I’ll ask the student council about it tomrrow for you then.」

Finishing dinner, and under Yuu’s lead, we arrived at the female dormitory building.
The dormitory was similar to other buildings in the school, decorated and built with a western style of architecture.

「I can only send you to here, the dorm manager won’t let me go inside」 Yuu said with a bitter smile. 「Your luggage should be in your room… sorting it all is something only Kana can do. If you have any problems, remember to ask your neighbors or the dorm manager for help!」

「I know! See you tomorrow!」

「Be sure to get to know Rin and–」

I hurried inside with a quick wave before he could finish.
Unlike the western exterior, the inside of the dormitory was furnished in a rather antique fashion.
The wooden floorboards seemed posh. I was unable to tell which type of wood it was made from, but judging from the markings it must be a high quality type of wood.

「Room 233 is it…」

I checked up which room I was assigned on the student datapad, and walked up to the second floor.
The room key was obviously also the student datapad.
The dorm rooms in the school were all singles rooms, probably in consideration of all the upper-class students that attend.
However for me, the better part was that I didn’t have to share rooms with a middle schooler girl. I am definitely not prepared for such a thing.
There were a few wooden boxes stacked at the door, filled with things from my previous home.
And thus ends the first day of my transfer. I threw myself on the bed.
Even the bedsheet was soft and fluffy, my entire body sank into it.
「It’s just the first day and I’ve already encountered difficulties huh…」
I recalled those collected, uncaring expressions of my classmates and my mood took a turn for the worse.
Nevermind, I’ll just take it one step at a time.
Tomorrow I’ll approach my classmates and specifically ask about it I guess.
Though, socializing, for me, might be a little bit difficult.
The soundproofing of the dorm seemed to be excellent, rendering the room deathly silent.
Gazing at the new moon, I began to miss my parents in the Middle Kingdom2
It’s a shame I don’t have a phone.
Yuu’s family treat me really well, already taking me in as their own daughter.
However in my heart there are these such things that don’t disappear that easily.

「Ei–」 I got up from my bed and began to unpack my belongings.

— Line Break —

It’s now the morning of the second day.
I sat on the bed and put on my school skirt, and pulled up my thigh-highs. And in the process, watching myself slowly pulling the thigh-highs bit by bit from my feet to my upper thigh.
From a third person point of view, I fear that this might be quite an ero sight.3
I think that this morning my mental state is a bit abnormal.
Everything I do this morning feels excessively tiring.
Though not like some certain manga protagonists who are unable to function in the morning.
But I can definitely feel a sluggishness in the body.
Perhaps it’s because I was nutrient deficient as a child, leading to anemia?
You can can certainly suspect that from just my height.

Yuu was already waiting downstairs. 「Good morning, Kana.」4

「Gooooob… Mooooning, Yuee-」

「Kana became an alien!」5

「Ahem, you must be imagining it.」

Yesterday was quite taxing on both the body and mind. Maybe that was why.
Finishing breakfast, and telling Yuu「I’ll see you at lunch」, I arrived at the classroom.
I attempted a greeting to a few female classmates.
They all hesitated, then looked around warily before greeting me back.
It seems like there might be more than just ignoring me.
But just straight up grabbing a student from my class and asking might not be the best either.

「Oh! Good morning, Nagase-san!」6 A boy’s voice called out from behind me.

Turing around, it turned out to be Vice Class President Tohno Shiki7
Maybe I’ll ask him after class ends.
I walked into the classroom and saw Nakamura Rin who seemed to have been sitting for a while, going through the oral part of English lesson work already.
Listening a bit closer to the vocabulary though, I realized that it wasn’t just middle school level English. And she didn’t speak with that typical broken Japanese Engrish.
It’s not easy being an Ojou-sama.

TN: Please let me know if there are any errors.

TN1: Yes, it’s literally the same characters as the Touhou chara

TN2: Ancient name of China used here in original, thus matching usage in TL

TN3: Literally used JP Kana Ero.

TN4: So in the novels Yuu refers to Kanade as 小奏. Japanese also has a pet name habit and the author has been pretty consistent with Kun and Chan terms, so it’s probably not Kanade-chan? Not sure how the previous TL got Sai, but I’m changing how Yuu refers to Kanade from Sai to Kana.

TN5: Originally 脱力系, reference is a bit obscure.

TN6: a famous character Minato Nagase 凑长濑 is who I’m assuming the author has based the name 奏长濑 Kanade Nagase on. Notice how there’s barely a difference. Seriously the author is lazy with names.

TN7: Also yes, that Tohno Shiki from Tsukihime. Same characters again.

6 thoughts on “GBLINC! Volume 2 Chapter 5

  1. After two long years. it’s back! All I have to say is to not leave comments about naming and actions too often, as it clutters the writing… But overall it’s good.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started