GBLINC! Volume 2 Chapter 6

At this time there’s not that many people in the classroom.
I hesitated for a bit before deciding to interrupt Rin’s morning studies.

「Rin-san, good morning」 And I didn’t receive a reply.
So I tried again.

「When Onii-san isn’t here, don’t address me so familiarly! Please call me Nakamura-san!」1

「Ok then, Nakamura-san…」

And so I dejectedly returned to my seat. It’s just the second day of my transfer, yet I’ve already received such harsh responses from my classmates.
Because my seat was right next to the window, I could easily use the reflection to tidy up my hair.
I could also see the enclosed courtyard of the middle school department from here.

「Eh? What’s that?」

There was a very visible Sakura tree in the courtyard.
Below it was something that looked like a letterbox, but because it was a bit far I couldn’t really tell.
I looked to the Sakura tree again. Because it was nearing the end of April, there was no signs of Sakura blooms at yet.
Maybe this area was more northerly.
Let’s go take a look at lunchtime.

— Line Break —

Thus I finished lunch and arrived with Yuu at the inner courtyard—
Or rather, that was the original plan.

「Onii-san!」 Rin had suddenly arrived.

Thus it became a group of us three.
I looked at the letterbox that I saw this morning.
On it there was a paper with something printed on it.

「Life, Academics, Love and so forth, please bring your problems to this letterbox! What is this…」

Yuu replied. 「This seems to be something the student council has placed. The student council will every so often take the letters and try to solve them… Though which department is supposed to deal with this… I can’t really recall.」

「It’s Hata Kokoro-senpai’s responsibility, Onii-chan~」 2

「Eh? Naka- Ahem, I mean, Rin-san knows Hata Kokoro-senpai?」

Without Yuu seeing, Rin stared at me. 「Of course. Isn’t she part of that Supervision Department or something?」

「Oh so that’s what their responsibiltiy was…」 It seems I can join without worry then. The club really was a relaxed one.
Though for love related questions, as someone who hasn’t had a relationship in 20 years, I don’t thikn I could be able to really help with that.

「Really…? I didn’t know that until now」

「Onii-san not knowing is normal. After all, you don’t really have that many female Senpais… or rather you’ve never even entered the Student Council meeting room have you?」

The just past noon sun was shining down on the patch of grass.
As a springtime noon, the temperature was just right. Not too hot or cold.
Having this kind of sun shine upon you, sleep reared it’s head.
And just like that I lay on the grass. 「I’ve decided! Every lunch break I’ll sleep right here!」 And declared as such.
With Yuu’s light laughter and 「I’ll wake you in a bit ok?」 as well as Rin’s disapproving expression, I drifted off to sleep.

— Line Break —

I returned to the classroom to see Tohno staring off into the distance.
「Tohno-san?」

「En… Ah, Nagase-san eh? What do you need? Are you submitting your club entrance form?」

「Ah no not that… though I will submit it soon. It’s just…」 I moved slightly closer. 「Why are all the other students ignoring me…?」

Tohno looked surprised. 「Nagase-san, you really can’t tell?」

「Huh?」

「Oh…. ok after school come to the viewing platform. I’ll tell you then.」 Tohno glanced as he said that.

Was it really that obvious? Well I couldn’t see why.
Yuu proceeded as normal, going to the student council after classes ended.
As for me, I went up to the viewing platform as arranged.
It’s actually just the tallest floor of this building. I’ve heard that many students go there to eat their bentos.
The school buildings weren’t too tall, from this platform there was an unobstructed view of the entire school grounds.

「It’s because of Nakamura Rin-san」 Tohno told me.

「Huh? Why? Is it a special ability of the class president?」 Even though she seemed to have an unknown grudge against me, it shouldn’t extend to the rest of the class should it?

「Nakamura-san is from the Nakamura family right?」

I nodded

「So she holds a certain sway over the academy, because for the rest of us all of our families have certain dealings with the Nakamura family. For example my family relies entirely on contracts with the Nakamura Company to exist.」 Pausing for a bit, he then continued 「And so with Nakamura-san displaying such disapproval of Nagase-san on your first day– though it’s a bit blunt, but she doesn’t like you. Even you can see that right?」

I understood what Tohno meant.

「If others were to get close to you, or even just talk to you, it could end up with her hating them too, thus affecting their family.」

「Then how come Tohno-san is able to speak to me normally?」

「Well I’m the vice class president, I can just say it’s part of my duties. And most of the time I make sure that Nakamura-san isn’t around. Otherwise why would I ask you to come here?」

「Ah I think I understand now…」 I think I let out the biggest sigh yet. 「I think I need to talk to Nakamura-san… Tohno-san knows this area well right? Is there a cafe nearby?」

「Out of the school gates, keep walking downhill. At the bottom take a right turn and you should see it. Everyone tends to go to that one.」

「I see, thank you deeply.」 I bowed with matching depth.

「Ah it’s nothing really, I’m also curious what you did to Nakamura-san to earn such ire. Her personality is usually great. Everyone else must have been too scared to even try to ask.」

「Well actually even I don’t know…」 And isn’t that why I need to go ask her?

After saying goodbye to Tohno-san, I walked towards the arts building.

The 5-H room was also unlocked today.

「Hmm? Kana came again? So have you decided?」 Senpai still had her hair styled in three braids, and was sitting with tucked knees reading an unrecognizable book. Compared to yesterday, her posture seemed more relaxed.

「Yep! I’ve decided to join this club! It’s called the school… school supervision department!」 Though honestly, the name seems a bit Chuuni. 3

I took out the club entrance form, only missing the club presidents– that is, Senpai’s signature.

「Though, is it just Senpai in the club?」

「Well now it’s two of us~ Heere, it’s done!」 She handed the form back and began introductions. 「Has Kana seen the mailbox in the courtyard? Our job is mostly to solve the problems that people entrust to the mailbox and therefore us~ If it’s just requests you can hand those to the Student Council instead. You must check every one or two days.」

「Understood!」

「If there’s usually nothing happening, you can read or do homework here. Though before that, ah sorry it might be a bit rude of me but, Kana, what’s with your manner of speaking?」

「Oh… I think it’s just been like this ever since? Maybe?」

「Have you visited the hospital? Is it because of a faucium infirma?」4

She said something that I’ve never heard of. Though Yuu has brought me to the hospital before.

「I’ve had examinations before… the doctors say it isn’t because of a illness.」 Though they did say it was a psychological disorder.
It is probably because the original body ended up with a form of PTSD, and after I inherited it, I also ended up getting it.
Even if I went to a psychologist, I don’t know what she’s gone through. There’s no way to even begin treatment.

「Speak with a lot of people, and build up self confidence.」 That was the only thing the doctor could recommend. 「Something psychological is a bit hard to really cure…」

「If you go look for a psychologist, it might become better slowly.」

Well at least now I’m doing better than the first day. I could say short sentences fine.
The first day it was just stuttering out one word after another.

「That was a bit personal wasn’t it? sorry~」


「Ah, it’s fine. Senpai was just looking out for me after all…」

TN1: (TN: I’m going with Onii-san because big brother becomes awkward since the title is rarely used in english other than to refer to someone’s relationship)

TN2: (TN: Yes, it’s actually Onii-chan here)

TN3: (TN: Chuunibyou or Eight Grader Syndrome)

TN4: Latin for Weak Throat. Not from original but added because context doesn’t make sense otherwise

4 thoughts on “GBLINC! Volume 2 Chapter 6

  1. Having her life made difficult by some rich girl after having the experiences she’s had is… distasteful to say the least.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the chapter! There is a lot of chapters to go but I hope you stick with us till the end. I’ve been waiting for this novel to be translated for WAY too long.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started