GBLINC! Volume 2 Chapter 13

Waking up the day after, I feel like my body has almost fully recovered.
The discomfort near my abdomen also lessened a lot, to the point of tolerable.
Regardless, I need to apologize to Yuu and Rin.
With that thought, I took a glance at the grounds below.
They were already waiting outside.
Was it so late already!? I don’t think I heard the alarm ring!
Of course it could be that in my sleepy state I shut it off…
I hurriedly put on my skirt and uniform and ran out.
Oh right, schoolbag schoolbag…
And so like that I rushed down.
As I walked out of the dorms, Rin seemed to be lecturing Yuu on something.

「Um…」 I interrupted them.

「Ah, Kana-chan! We were just about to go up…」

「Sorry… my alarm seemed to have a little problem.」

The three of us walked towards the classroom.

「Nevermind that, Onii-chan, isn’t there something that you should tell Rin?」N Rin suddenly spoke up.

「Um… I also want to tell something to Yuu.」

My eyes met Yuu’s.

「Eh, then Kana-chan you first.」

「No no, Yuu should go first.」

We became silent once more.

「「Sorry about yesterday!」」
And like that Yuu and I spoke the same words at the same time.

「「Kana (Yuu) why are you apologizing!?」」
… and again.

This time I chose to speak first.
「Yuu was obviously trying to help me… yet I treated Yuu like that, yelling and shouting…」

「It was obviously my fault! Kana-chan has special circumstances, shouting like that, I must’ve made you even more frustrated…」

When speaking about 「Special circumstances」, Yuu’s face lit up with a blush.
But Yuu had misunderstood.
I was a bit moody, yes, and it might be caused by that no doubt.
But the true reason was a more selfish one, one that I would never tell anyone else.

「Oh, stop arguing! At the end of it all both Kana-chan and Onii-chan have faults! Shake hands and make up!」
Rin took Yuu and my hand and placed them together.

Yuu’s hand was like that of all males, big and rough.
His strength was displayed in the shake.
It would be great if every problem was solveable by a simple handshake.


Absorbing the experiences from the past few days, I decided to sleep in the dorms during lunch break.
I don’t want to have my condition worsen by risking another chilly nap, that kind of pain was enough the first time around.
I had learned a bit more about this all from the infirmary sensei and Rin, though learning about it all was a little bit embarrassing.
「Eh? Kana-chan doesn’t know anything about this? Didn’t your mother… ah, sorry. I just remembered Kana-chan’s mother…」
I had also ended up receiving some differing levels of empathy.

After purchasing the necessary health products from the shop, and passing by the central courtyard, I took a quick glance at the mailbox by habit.
Even though someone put a letter inside, I !! A sudden development1 !!

I took the envelope out and went back to the dorms.
Opening the letter, I was met with pretty yet neat handwriting.
Even though I didn’t really know the calligraphy here, I could still draw upon my Hanzi2 writing experience.

It was probably written by a girl.
Giving it a quick scan, it seemed to be about her secret crush on a boy in her class, though I didn’t know how to start.
At the bottom right of the letter there was a return address to a school email, probably that of the letter writer.
I should probably show this to Hata Kokoro-senpai first!
And so afterschool, I visited the clubroom.
Senpai was once again kneeling, and reading a book with some English printed on the front.
Ah, 《Wuthering Heights》
I had read it in highschool, I could still remember some of it.
Senpai didn’t seem to have noticed me still, so I knocked softly on the wooden desk.

「Ah… Kana-chan, long time no see. How is it, this club really is pretty relaxed righ- what’s that in your hand?」

「Senpai! Someone left a letter!」 Saying that, I handed the letter over.

「Ohh– Well then, I’ll leave it to Kana-chan then~」

「Eh? Senpai won’t help out?」

「I handle the highschool side~ so I’ll leave the middle school side to you. Also I don’t have any experience with this so…」

Well I have even less experience…
Though with only two of us in this club, splitting the work like this is no issue.

「Ok… I guess I should try contacting her first.」
I took out my datapad terminal and entered the address from the letter.
At the very least we should arrange to meet first, which I decided to be tonight.
Though it’s all well said and done, something like a secret crush wasn’t something that could be solved in one meeting.
When I was in university, I also helped a roommate chase after a girl.
But the help I gave was really just half-baked ideas3 , and sometimes acting as a wingman to help raise their affection towards each other.
Once they knew that I was the roommate though, the chase was a complete failure.
That said, after all that I must have learned something right?

After around 10 minutes, they replied.
We were to meet at a western style restaurant inside the school, at 7 PM, with even the table number decided.
Western Food 4again…?
From the position on the map, the restaurant was named ロイヤルホスト (Royal Host)
It seemed to be a big chain western style restaurant in Japan.
Though speaking of, I took a look left and right. The school had such a long high street (Typically the wealthiest street filled with shops).
The restaurants were also filled with students, and there were lots of little cafes dotted around.
Why did Tohno-san recommend I go to one outside the school?
I never did find out how the café was.

Pulling back this train of thought, I took a look at the time. It was perfectly 15 minutes to 7.
Judging from the table number, the letter sender was probably a VIP of this place.
Following the directions of the waitress, I was able to see the meeting spot.
A girl was already sitting there.
Looking from afar, she was without doubt a bishoujo5
Long straight chestnut brown hair flowing to mid-waist, judging from the quality and colour it didn’t seem dyed and was probably natural.
Her limbs were also delicate. Was she a mixed? All it took was a moment for this question to pop out.
Though her eyebrows were black, she was no doubt an Asian.
Though she was sitting, but judging from her height, she was probably around my age — or rather, around Rin’s age is probably more fitting.
But her breasts were far beyond those of her age.
That globe of fat, it could not be unsaid, definitely drew my attention.
By some habit of nature, I also took a look down at my own breasts.
And much like my height implied, flat as the plains.

I sighed.
Eh, why was I sighing? Rather, why did I feel the need to compete about this?
And with my heart filled with such have and have nots, I was led by the waitress to my seat.
Like from afar, the girl in front of me had a Yamato Nadeshiko6 feel.
With such qualities, she still had to hold a secret crush? Just who was her opponent!?
The waitress left momentarily to fetch the menus.
The girl spoke up first.

「Um… so you were the one who manages the—- Eh?」She suddenly stopped speaking.

「Is… is something wrong?」

They suddenly stood up and hugged me.
Ah… I was buried once again by the chest.
Should I be blaming my height, or should I be blaming the chest area?
「If it isn’t Kana-chan!」
Someone I knew?!



TN: And so the plot thickens.

Also, that person who wanted me to change spacing around, can you be more specific with an example? Because right now I have no idea what you mean. I did break up spacing here and there, preserving the one line style as best as I could, but whenever a character speaks I feel it’s better to merge the modifier part with the speaker rather than leave as separate lines. Also there is very little indication of a time shift/location shift in the original, which I have attempted to improve by at least breaking into a new paragraph-ish thing. Most of the added spacing is for readability.

Note: I’m not sure if it’s an error, but it’s just Rin. Contextually it should be Kana-chan? I have no idea if I’m misreading or not.

TN1: 冲击性的事实 Yu-Gi-Oh ZEXAL reference, unsure how to use or meme

TN2: Kanji/Chinese Characters

TN3: 不知所云. Lit. Unknown clouds. Basically meaning ideas pulled out the ass, pulled out of nowhere etc.

TN4: Western food generally implies Americanized foods rather than European

TN5: Lit. Pretty Girl. Effectively means looks far above average

TN6: Japanese concept of the perfect woman, in looks and personality. Usually demure, reserved, prim yet homely.

5 thoughts on “GBLINC! Volume 2 Chapter 13

  1. Thx for chapter!

    I can’t speak for what that commenter meant, but what i think he meant was what your doing rn. looks perfect imo, and if i had to be nitpicky, maybe change the thought’s look. it’s easy to mistake them for actual dialogue sometimes. (also something if u have to time to do, put names beside the dialogue. most of the time its fine, but when more than one person is talking in a group, or a group chatting in general, it can get chaotic, but its overall fine, with abit of thinking this doesnt matter, just a nitpick tho)

    Like

    1. I try to match the original text as much as possible. I recognized that with multiple people talking it’s a bit chaotic, hence why I leave double spacing if it’s a different person speaking and not if it’s the same person. As for thoughts, that’s how they are in the original text too.
      And also the person was saying that my current style was not like JP LN style so I don’t know what to do.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started