GBLINC! Volume 2 Chapter 12

There was nothing in front of me.
If I recall, I should be… where was I?
A vast emptiness surrounded me.
Suddenly, with a popping noise, a mirror suddenly appeared.
And reflected in the mirror was not the elementary school third year student Nagase Kanade.
But rather, the male me from before.
「!」


「Sensei! Is Kana-chan ok?!」

My consciousness had returned to reality.
From my side came a voice that was probably Yuu’s.
Even though I had returned, there was still pure darkness in front of me.
I also felt quite dizzy.
A girl’s body and all, really quite troublesome.

「It’s ok, it’s probably that time of month. But…」 It was the voice of a mature sounding woman.

Though it was still hard to think, but it wasn’t much of a guess to say that it was the acting nurse.

「But… what?」

「If it was just that time of the month it’s nothing much, but combined with anemia… I guess it’s the first time for her.」

Of course it was! How could I have experienced this before in the other world!
Well, even though I never experienced it, I still heard about such things.
It was a bit chilly these days, perhaps that made it somewhat worse.
There was a very slight sensation of tightness coming from below. It should be that, yep, that.

「Eh? The first time only now? That said, as a male, should Onii-chan still be here?」 Rin’s voice popped up from the side.
If you were to ask the males to leave, shouldn’t I leave as well then?

「Ah… hahaha… right I should probably do that.」

「Ah you shouldn’t be too worried, just let her sleep. Go back to class, I’ll take care of her ok?」

「Ok! Thank you Sensei!」

The sound of the door shutting followed soon after.
「Actually I already woke up」 was something I couldn’t say.
I’m not sure if it’s because of the period, but all I wanted right now was peace.
But it could also have been because of that strange dream just now.
I didn’t feel like sleeping anymore, and lying here wasn’t good either.
Turning my head slightly, I looked at the teacher next to me.

「Sensei, can I go back to the dorms?」

「Oh, you’re awake? Let me take a look.」

She came over and examined my face, taking in the situation.
Too close! I was weak to these lab coat wearing young women!
Feeling a bit of heat in my cheeks, I turned the towards the empty bed instead.

「Mhm! I think there shouldn’t be any problems now. Though, compared to your peers, yours came rather late… You should make sure to take care of your body, ok? If you don’t feel well you should quickly come here or go to the hospital.」

How responsible!
For the me of the past, the nurse was always rather uncaring.
Was it because I was a girl now?
Speaking of that time of the month, I recalled what my previous high school classmate told me.
If you confess on the 13th day of your target girl’s menstrual cycle, it will be successful. Because that is when their hormones are in full swing.
Him not succeeding was another matter.
「Curses! Did I get the timing wrong?」
From my point of view, relying on something like that to confess to a girl who doesn’t even know you, was a bit um… that.
Though speaking of my past… wait, the past?
What did I look like in the past?
Just then I should have seen it in a dream, so I tried my best to recall the details.
Yet I was unable.

「Thank you.」 Pausing for quite a while, I gave a somewhat out of it thanks and left the infirmary.

There must be something that’s slowly changing me.
Heart filled with unease, I walked slowly back towards the dorms.
And I spent another afternoon sleeping on the bed.
Though I was a bit scared, but I could use 「It’s probably caused by my period」 as an excuse to calm myself and put the thought to the back of my mind.

The best way to pass time was to sleep.
When I looked at my watch, it was already 5pm. Combined with this morning, I had basically slept an entire day. Though I felt a bit out of it before, now it was hard to even think.
Rin and Yuu were probably still in the student council room.
Though I was able to walk back to the dorms just like that, after sleeping, my body felt even heavier.
What to do for dinner?
If it was the past me, something like this didn’t even need thought.
But now it was a bit…
Why did I end up thinking about the past me again — wasn’t the me now the same as before?
Oh no.
My thoughts were a mess again.
— it must be because of my period.
But even if I didn’t feel well, I still had to eat. I forced myself up.
I shouldn’t bother those two.
I did say that I would help Rin before, maybe this way I can create a situation where those two can eat dinner together.
I also didn’t want to rely on Yuu too much, if this continued I would…
Putting on my clothes, and especially making sure to wrap up my abdomen, I walked out of the door.
The night wind was blowing from one side to the other.
Though it was already spring, the night wind was still rather chilling.
My body shivered, and then my abdomen was once again in pain.
Like this I tried my best to walk to the staircase, but suddenly my vision became hazy.
「But if it was combined with anemia…」
The last thing I thought of was the words of the Infirmary-sensei.


When I woke up again, I was in the familiar surroundings of the dorm room.
The night time lights outside were already on.
Fainting twice in a day, I felt a bit of despair.

「So Yuu, how did you manage to enter the girl’s dorms this time?」

My rather cold manner gave the nearby Yuu and Rin a bit of a fright.

「It was still the dorm manager, she gave me three hours~」

The dorm manageer was on the first floor, when I had time I should go see that lady.
I really need to have a good long talk with her.

「Nevermind that, why was Kana collapsed on the staircase? If you felt sick you should’ve taken care!」

「How did you find me…」

「When Rin and I were sending you a dinner bento2, we saw Kana lying on the ground… so, why?」

「Of course it was to go eat dinner!」 Not knowing why, my tone became harsh.

「Huh? You could’ve just sent me a mail to ask for that!」1

「I don’t want to!」

We started shouting at each other.
Then the room suddenly became silent again.
Pointing at the door, I turned away from Yuu.

「Onii-san… let’s go. Kana-chan is in a bad mood right now.」

「But… nevermind, I’ll leave the bento here.」

Not soon after, I could hear the door closing softly.
My stomach was rumbling.
Crawling out of my blankets, I took a peek at the bento sitting on the bedside stand.
The outside had a heat retaining function, upon feeling it was still warm.
This was the first time Yuu and I had a fight — if you could this a fight.
It was obviously my fault.
What was I being stubborn about?
I thought about this as I ate the bento.



Translator Notes:

TN1: Much of Japan still used the email system up until near 2014/2015 ish. Smart phones as well as things like LINE, Whatsapp, Facebook messenger systems etc were not common until then. Even now I think Japan still holds on to the phone mail system. Adding someone to your contacts and exchanging mails is like exchanging numbers.

TN2: Forgot to mention, but bento or Bian Dang (便当) is basically the simple meals you can find in a Japanese style convini. Usually consisting of a simple meat dish, some rice and maybe veggies and pickles. They’re cheap but filling and can be considered an upgrade over instant noodles. Their main appeal is easy to eat and clean up, compared to fancy meals that require plating. Home cooked meals eaten at lunch can also be referred to as bento in JP style novels, so I want to make it clear that in this it’s only referring to bought ones.

4 thoughts on “GBLINC! Volume 2 Chapter 12

  1. Ahh finally a chapter that legitimately felt fluff to me. well, not really, but it was somehow genuine and heartwarming..

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started